Uninsured Motorist Coverage: Texas

No, uninsured motorist coverage in Texas is not required, but it needs to be: 16% of Texas motorists are uninsured.

Basically, uninsured motorist protection protects the policyholder and family members in cases where they’re injured by a hit-and-run or non-insured driver, if the other motorist is liable. This type of protection is frequently called Texas hit-and-run insurance. Although you weren’t at fault, you could be stuck with bills stemming from a car accident with an uninsured motorist – if you don’t add uninsured motorist insurance to your automobile insurance policy, of course!

Don’t have uninsured motorist insurance? If not, we can help you get insured against uninsured drivers for less than you think. Fortunately, we have partnered with an extensive array of Texas insurance providers that can offer you uninsured motorist coverage. Enter you zip code to compare rates!

Texas Uninsured Motorist Law

UM/UIM Coverage Needed: No. To be fully covered in Texas, an individual needs to have a minimum degree of coverage. Below are the coverage amounts they will need to have:

  • $25,000 for injuries sustained by a person in an accident.
  • $50,000 for injuries suffered by all individuals in an accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage resulting from an accident.

If they does not maintain this amount of coverage, at least, a driver will be deemed underinsured. In cases like this, UM/UIM insurance should cover the difference between the amount the driver at fault is able to pay, and how much should be paid.

Accident With Uninsured Vehicle in Texas?

People who have been in an accident with someone driving without being insured might have the legal right to reparation for losses. It certainly seems unjust to be refused damages mainly because the other driver who caused the accident didn’t buy insurance, and the judge may concur. If you wish to make an uninsured driver or hit and run legal claim in Texas, you’ll need an attorney.