Uninsured Motorist Coverage: South Carolina
For drivers in South Carolina, uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory. Good thing too, because a study by the Insurance Research Council found that 10% of drivers in South Carolina are driving without insurance. That’s 462,536 road users!
What is uninsured motorist coverage? Basically, uninsured motorist insurance provides coverage in case you are in a crash where the other driver is to blame, but uninsured. Uninsured motorist coverage is many times termed South Carolina hit and run insurance coverage.
If you don’t have uninsured motorist insurance, you might have to pay for hospital costs related to an accident for which you are not responsible.
If you haven’t got uninsured motorist coverage, we urge you to find out how much it would cost to add it to your automobile insurance policy. Fortunately, we have partnered with an extensive array of South Carolina car insurance companies who can offer you uninsured motorist insurance. Enter you zip code to compare rates!
South Carolina Uninsured Motorist Law
Yes, South Carolina uninsured motorist coverage is required. To be fully covered in South Carolina, a road user will need to have these coverage amounts:
- For one person injured in an accident: $25,000
- For all of the individuals injured in an accident: $50,000
- For property damage in an accident: $25,000
If he or she doesn’t have this amount of coverage, at least, a driver will be underinsured. In this instance, UM/UIM coverage should pay the disparity between the amount the motorist at fault can pay up, and how much should be paid.
Hit By an Uninsured Vehicle in South Carolina?
If you were injured by an uninsured driver in South Carolina, you might have the right to legal recourse. In practically every state, it’s against the law for a driver to be without insurance, and may be considered criminal. If you’d like to file an uninsured driver or hit and run legal claim in South Carolina, you need a lawyer.