Uninsured Motorist Coverage: New Jersey

Wanting to know whether or not you ought to get New Jersey uninsured motorist coverage? Yes uninsured motorist insurance is required by law in the state of New Jersey, and you ought to get it, seeing that recent reports conducted by the Insurance Research Council (IRC) show that at least 9% of New Jersey road users are either uninsured or underinsured.

What does uninsured motorist coverage cover? In general, uninsured motorist protection is a part of an automobile insurance policy that insures the insurance policy holder from uninsured drivers and hit-and-run motorists. This type of protection is commonly referred to as New Jersey hit and run insurance coverage. It may seem unfair that you might be forced to pay off healthcare costs sustained in a car accident with a motorist that was without insurance, and that’s the reason New Jersey uninsured motorist coverage is really essential. Do not have uninsured motorist insurance? If not, we urge you to find out how much it would cost to add it to your insurance policy.

Fortunately, we have partnered with an extensive array of New Jersey automobile insurance companies who can offer you uninsured motorist coverage. Enter you zip code to compare rates!

New Jersey Uninsured Motorist Law

Yes, New Jersey uninsured motorist insurance is required. To be thoroughly covered in New Jersey, a road user must have a certain level of insurance coverage. Listed below are the coverage amounts they will need to have:

  • $15,000 for injuries sustained by a single person in an accident.
  • $30,000 for injuries suffered by all men and women in an accident.
  • $5,000 for property damage due to an accident.

If they doesn’t have this much coverage, a driver will be underinsured. In such cases, UM/UIM coverage ought to cover the discrepancy between what the motorist to blame is able to cover, and the amount that is supposed to be paid.

Hit By an Uninsured Motorist in New Jersey?

Those who have been hit by an uninsured motorist might have the right to reparation for damages or injuries. In nearly every state, it’s negligent for a motorist to be without insurance, and might be considered criminal. If you’d like to file an uninsured motorist or hit and run legal claim in New Jersey, you will need a lawyer.