Uninsured Motorist Coverage: New Hampshire
If you live in New Hampshire, uninsured motorist coverage is compulsory. Good thing too, because a study by the Insurance Research Council found that 9% of road users in New Hampshire don’t carry the state’s minimum insurance. That’s 118,482 motorists! So how does uninsured motorist protection work? Basically, uninsured motorist insurance will cover personal injury expenses resulting from an uninsured or underinsured driver. UM/UIM coverage is often referred to as New Hampshire hit-and-run insurance coverage. If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, you may be forced to cover physicians bills related to a personal injury for which you were not liable.
If you haven’t got uninsured motorist coverage, then we urge you to find out how much it would cost to add it to your car insurance policy. Fortunately, we have partnered with an extensive array of New Hampshire insurance companies that can offer you uninsured motorist coverage. Enter you zip code to compare rates!
New Hampshire Uninsured Motorist Law
As mentioned above, UM/UIM insurance is required in the state of New Hampshire. To be properly covered in the state of New Hampshire, an individual must have a minimum degree of coverage. Here’s the coverage amounts they will need to have:
- For a single individual injured in an accident: $25,000
- For all persons injured in an accident: $50,000
- For property damage in an accident: $25,000
Without this much coverage, at least, a motorist will be deemed underinsured. In cases like this, UM/UIM insurance should cover the discrepancy between what the motorist at fault can shell out, and how much is supposed to be paid.
Accident With Uninsured Vehicle in New Hampshire?
Individuals who have been hit by a motorist driving without insurance might have the legal right to seek reparation for damages or injuries. It certainly seems unjust to be denied compensation mainly because a car owner who caused the accident neglected to acquire car insurance, and the legal system may agree. If you’d like to file an uninsured motorist or hit and run claim in New Hampshire, you will need a law firm.