Uninsured Motorist Coverage: Mississippi
Wanting to know if you need Mississippi uninsured motorist coverage? Even though uninsured motorist insurance is not mandatory for drivers in Mississippi, you should get it. That’s because recent surveys performed by the Insurance Research Council (IRC) show that at least 26% of Mississippi road users are either uninsured or underinsured. What is uninsured motorist insurance? Generally, uninsured motorist coverage protects you in case you are injured in an accident in which the other person is responsible, but uninsured. UM/UIM coverage is often termed Mississippi hit and run insurance.
If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, you may have to cover health care costs associated with a vehicle accident for which you were not responsible.
Mississippi uninsured motorist insurance doesn’t need to run you lots of money. It is crucial to compare rates on Mississippi uninsured motorist coverage between insurers. For that reason we allow you to compare rates from the leading providers of Mississippi UM/UIM coverage – online!
Mississippi Uninsured Motorist Law
UM/UIM Coverage Needed: No. In order to be thoroughly covered in Mississippi, a road user will need to have a certain amount of coverage. Here’s the liability protections they must have:
- For one individual injured in an accident: $25,000
- For all persons injured in an accident: $50,000
- For damage to property in an accident: $25,000
Without this amount of coverage, at minimum, a driver will be considered underinsured. In this instance, uninsured motorist protection should cover the discrepancy between what the motorist to blame can pay off, and what is supposed to be paid.
Injured By an Uninsured Driver in Mississippi?
Been hit by a motorist who wasn’t insured? In 48 states, it’s negligent for a car owner to drive without being insured, and might be treated as a crime. As expected, it’s crucial to ask a law firm to assess your uninsured motorist or hit and run case.