Uninsured Motorist Coverage: Colorado
No, uninsured motorist coverage in Colorado is not compulsory, but it needs to be, because 15% of Colorado road users are driving without being insured.
Generally, uninsured motorist insurance coverage will cover the cost of trauma or property damage brought on by an uninsured motorist or an unknown motorist. In many cases it also includes coverage for underinsured motorists and to blame drivers that have too little coverage to cover your claim. This type of protection is frequently known as Colorado hit and run insurance coverage.
Despite the fact that you weren’t in the wrong, you could find yourself stuck with costs stemming from an accident with an uninsured driver – unless you add uninsured motorist insurance to your insurance policy, of course! If you would like to add an uninsured motorist clause to your current policy or get a new insurance plan altogether, we can save you some money while being protected from the 754,379 road users in Colorado that lack insurance.
It is crucial to compare rates on Colorado uninsured motorist coverage between insurers. For that reason we allow you to compare rates from the leading providers of Colorado UM/UIM coverage – online!
Colorado Uninsured Motorist Law
In Colorado, UM/UIM coverage is not required. To be properly insured in Colorado, a person must have the following liability limits, at minimum:
- $25,000 for injuries sustained by an individual in an accident.
- $50,000 for injuries sustained by all of the people in an accident.
- $15,000 for property damage due to an accident.
Without this much coverage, a driver will be considered underinsured. In such a case, uninsured motorist coverage ought to pay the discrepancy between the amount the motorist to blame can pay off, and what is due.
Injured By Uninsured Motorist in Colorado?
If you were injured by an uninsured motorist in Colorado, you might have legal action. In forty-eight states, it is unlawful for a road user to be without insurance, and might even be considered a criminal offense. If you would like to file an uninsured motorist or hit and run claim in Colorado, you will need legal counsel.